meet Karina Fabian

Firestorm of Dragons

Firestorm of Dragons

In 2005, Karina Fabian turned her attention totally to fiction. With Rob, she has edited the Christian SF anthology, Leaps of Faith, (coming 2008) and Infinite Space, Infinite God, an award-winning SF anthology with Catholic themes (2007 twilight Times Books)

Her latest fantasy adventure, DragonEye, PI, features a down-and-out dragon working off a geas by the Faerie St. George. Vern d’Wyvern (yes, it’s an embarrassing name for a dragon) is partnered by Sister Grace, a Mage for the Faerie Catholic Church. Together they solve crimes magical and Mundane and save the universes on an all-too-regular basis. DragonEye, PI, stories appear in magazines and on the Internet, and its first book, “Magic, Mensa and Mayhem” comes out from Swimming Kangaroo in early 2009.

In addition to juggling the stories from at least three different universes, Karina is President of the Catholic Writers’ Guild, moderator of Catholic Writers Online, and active in a half-dozen or more groups. She also teaches writing seminars on-line. With four kids, four pets and a very understanding husband who is an officer in the Air Force, she tends to sleep in her “spare” time.

Karina’s Websites:

www.fabianspace.com, where you’ll find info about her, her writing and her eclectic writing/homeschooling/humor/just-gotta-say-it blog

www.virtualbooktourdenet.blogspot.com, where she’ll gladly advertise your book if you’ll return the favor to someone else

www.dragoneyepi.net, where you can learn more about the fantasy noir dragon detective Vern, his partner Sister Grace, and the world of Dragon Eye, PI.

Here’s an interview snippet:

If your book was turned into a movie, who would you like to play the main characters?

No idea. I’d leave that for the casting company. I just want them to say my lines.

What is your favorite word? Least favorite?

Favorite: Paycheck
Least Favorite: Rejection

What is the hardest kind of scene for you to write?

Descriptive, like the scenery and such. I’m not a visually-oriented person, so dwelling on the color of the grain as the sun strikes it in the mid afternoon with the flock of birds billowing across it, lalala…. is not easy for me to write.

If there was one thing you could change about your work, what would it be?

I’d get picked up by a major publisher who’d get me on bookshelves nationally. I’m working on making that change. In the meantime, I’m working with several great small-press publishers. It’s my hope that, if this dream comes true, they’ll be able to complement each other and I can build my readership for all my books.

I realize that sounds terribly commercial, but writing is a business, and right now, I’m in a business mindset.

What’s the one question that no one ever asks you and you wish they would?

I don’t have one. I’m content to let people ask me what they will.

Where can we see your work online? In print?

For a list of my books in print or coming soon, check out my website, http://www.fabianspace.com. I have a full list of short and long works with links.

I also do websites for the anthologies I’m in:
www.isigsf.com, where you can learn about Infinite Space, Infinite God. Thought-provoking sci-fi with a Catholic twist!
www.leapsoffaithsf.com, to read about Leaps of Faith, an anthology of Christian sci-fi
www.firestormofdragons.com, to learn more about Firestorm of Dragons–dragons as you’ve never seen them before!

Since I edited Infinite Space, Infinite God and Leaps of Faith, I answered some of the questions below:

What’s the biggest mistake that new authors make?

Not following the guidelines. It does not matter how good your work it, if it does not fit the theme and approach of the anthology, it will not be accepted.

What are the things that will make you turn a book down?

Not following the guidelines. Bad grammar. Lazy plotting or characterization. Lack of internal logic in a story.

What formats do your books come in?

Electronic and print.

To read complete Bio and interview, go to http://ghostwhisper.proboards29.com/index.cgi

About ghostposts

Trapped in the moody Texas weather, this disabled mom squeezes out a few hours each day to write. Her husband and children are patient, her housework is neglected and her dog is not speaking to her. Her fiction has appeared in numerous magazines and e zines including Whispering Spirits, The Shadow Box Anthology and Quietus Magazine.
This entry was posted in Highly Recommended, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to meet Karina Fabian

  1. Thanks for posting this! I enjoyed doing this interview. You asked a lot of terrific questions.

    For those who would like to know more about Firestorm of Dragons or Leaps of Faith, we are hosting book tours online in November. You can meet the contributors, read reviews and more. You’ll be able to find the schedule of bloggers on my website, http://www.fabianspace.com.

    (We’re also looking for more folks to host us on our tour–contact me through my website, http://www.fabianspace.com.)

    Thanks again!

    Karina Fabian

Leave a Reply

