Meet Andrea Allison

Here’s the second part of my interview with Andrea Allison:

Part 2

What inspires you?

My eyes and ears are always open to catch whatever I can find. I read a lot. I love movies. With every new idea, I find inspiration from it even when I feel unmotivated to write.

What kind of research do you do for a project?

Having a blog on the same subject as my writing gives me a way to research for my writing as well as share it with like-minded people. I read stories about haunted experiences, deaths that led to such experiences as well as a world some embrace while others ridicule. Researching places and people are necessary too for accuracy purposes.

Where do you like to go to do your best work?

I’m pretty much ok in most environments as long as no one is bugging me or constantly looking over my shoulder as I write. That annoys the heck out of me.

Do you like to write with a pen and notebook, on a typewriter or on a computer?

I’ve always been a pen and paper kind of girl.

Do you listen to music or prefer silence?

I prefer music or some kind of background noise. Can’t concentrate without it.

Do you outline your story before you start a novel?

I don’t write novels yet. However, I use to not outline much. I would let the story lead me wherever I felt inspired to go. Now, I’ve began to use scene cards for outlining purposes.

Do you edit as you write, edit after you’re done or a mixture of both?

Edit after I’m done while I’m transferring from paper to computer and a few times afterwards.

If you weren’t a writer, what would you do?

I have no idea. Never really think about it much.

How does your family feel about your writing career?

They are very supportive. Always have been. I’m lucky to have them.

If there was one thing you could change about your work, what would it be?

Hmmm….I guess nothing. I’m satisfied with how it is for now.

Where can we see your work online? In print?

I find myself in the position where most of what I’ve had published were in ezines that have since shut down except for one. I have one short story “Tornado Luck” that is available online at Long Story Short and in print, in Stories of Strength, an anthology to benefit disaster victims.

Do you have a website or blog? Tell us about it.

I have a personal website at

http://www.freewebs.com/andreaallison. It’s all abut my background, where you can find me on the web and what I’ve had published.

I also have two blogs.

Southern Expressions is about my life, writing, and anything else I find interesting. Then there is Ghost Stories. I started it about four years ago after moving to Oklahoma and discovering the wonderful world of satellite TV. It’s about the paranormal, folklore, mythology, etc.

To read the entire interview, go to Whispering Spirits Message Board

To read “Tornado Luck” Click Here.

About ghostposts

Trapped in the moody Texas weather, this disabled mom squeezes out a few hours each day to write. Her husband and children are patient, her housework is neglected and her dog is not speaking to her. Her fiction has appeared in numerous magazines and e zines including Whispering Spirits, The Shadow Box Anthology and Quietus Magazine.
This entry was posted in Highly Recommended and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

